Lesson Task – Create a Wireframe

In the last task, you had to come up with a list of 10 questions for a briefing form. I would like you to now fill in this briefing form, take the answers and create a wireframe for the site.

This wireframe do not have to be a wireframe for your current Course Assignment (Product Website) it’s purely for you to practice your skills.You can choose if you want it to be a lo-tech or hi-tech architecture.  Regardless of which method you choose, I would like to see as much detail as possible. Also, please write a short paragraph to explain why you chose the lo-tech or hi-tech option.

So, let’s answer the form first.

  1. What kind of visitors are you expecting on your website? Small businesses looking for a graphic designer.
  2. What is the purpose of your web page? To showcase my portfolio and to connect with clients.
  3. Who are your competitors and how do you differ from them? I have a lot of great competitors, and my design style will be my unique difference to them.
  4. If you have a website already, what do you think works and not works with the existing one? I do not have a website already.
  5. What actions do you want visitors to take on the site? I want them to find ways to contact me.
  6. Do you have a brand manual and logo? I don’t.
  7. Will we need to implement a payment sollution to the website? No.
  8. What features should be used on your website? I want to show some of my work, some background info about myself, where to find me on SoMe and other contact information.
  9. What do you NOT want on your site in terms of text, content, colour and graphic elements? I do not want flashy colors and too much going on.
  10. What is your deadline for completing the site? How big is the budget? No deadline, no budget.

Now to the wireframe. I have never in my life created a website from scratch and absolutely no experience with wireframing. I must admit that this part of the course is a bit challenging. However, starting with a wireframe is of course logical and makes the process easier later on. I made a lo key wireframe as it is most common and can easily be adjusted later. In regards of doing wireframes for a customer, it gives a lot more room for changes later than if we create a hi key one where the design is mostly set.

I started off by making a few simple hand drawn sketches and made one digital sketch as well. I want lots of white space, and a clean and contemporary look to the webpage. The main goal is to let potential clients see some of my best work in my portfolio and to let them easily find my contact info. I feel happy about the result so far.

Also we were to create a webpage on our own, and my page is: https://heimdaldesign.no

This will be my professional site for my company Heimdal Design, and will be used to show my portfolio and to connect with potential clients.

Published by veronicaheimdalgrafisk

Studying Graphic Design at Noroff and this blog is where I post my lesson tasks. Want to see more? https://www.instagram.com/heimdaldesign/

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started